Arizona Department of Homeland Security

Arizona Department of Homeland Security

You are here

Regional Advisory Council

A regional approach to homeland security for Arizona was announced in 2004. Five homeland security regions were identified to ensure the state - through the Regional Advisory Councils - strengthen its ability to work together at all levels to address common threat and vulnerability issues and encourage the sharing of resources across town, city, county, and Tribal lines.

Arizona was one of the first states to develop a regional approach to homeland security, which the U.S. Department of Homeland Security has highlighted as a "vital step" in state homeland security efforts. Identifying resources and needs at regional levels throughout the state helps avoid duplicative purchases and makes the best use of limited federal funding.

Arizona's Five Homeland Security Regions:

Each region is represented by a Regional Advisory Council (RAC). Each RAC is comprised of first responders and local elected officials that live or work in the region, including: two members from fire service (one rural, one urban); one police chief; one sheriff; one member for Tribal government; one emergency manager; one mayor; one county supervisor; four at-large members; and members from the Arizona Department of Public Safety and county public health. It is through these RACs that homeland security projects are initially prioritized and recommended.

  • Eastern Region: Pinal, Gila, Graham and Greenlee counties
  • Central Region: Maricopa County
  • Northern Region: Coconino, Navajo and Apache counties
  • Southern Region: Yuma, Pima, Santa Cruz and Cochise counties
  • Western Region: Mohave, Yavapai and La Paz counties

Grant Funding Guidelines:

RAC Information:


There are no meeting documents to display at this time.